New Act Teni Makanaki, Others Shine At Mvp Awards

New songstress Teniola Apata better known as Teni Entertainer has emerged winner of the Souncity MVP Award in the category of Upcoming Artiste at the ceremony held in Lagos Saturday/Sunday.

The awards which was held at the Eko Convention Centre of Eko Hotels in Lagos, Nigeria was watched by over 50 million people across the African continent.  

Teni was one of the sensations of the night long event which also featured other winners as Starboy, Wizkid and Patoranking.

When she took to the floor, she dazzle her fans with her flagship songs to the admiration of the audience.

While the award for the Song of the Year went to Burna Boy, that of the award for the Best Pop went to David Adeleke Davido.

Burna Boy was the star boy of the night as picked awards in various categories including the highly coveted “Africa Artist of the Year”. 

This year awards also saw Patoranking wining the “Video of the Year” award for the first time. South Africa’s Busiswa clinched the Best Female MVP against Nigeria’s Tiwa Savage, Simi, Niniola and Yemi Alade.

Other Categories and the Winners are:

Best Male MVP

  • BURNA BOY- Winner

Best Female MVP

  • BUSISWA- Winner

Best Hip Hop

  • AKA- Winner
  • FALZ- Winner

Best Pop

  • DAVIDO- Winner

Best Collaboration


Digital Artiste of the Year

  • MR EAZI- Winner

Video of the Year


Best Group or Duo

  • NAVY KENZO- Winner

Song of the Year

  • YE – BURNA BOY- Winner

Best New Artiste

  • TENIOLA- Winner

Viewer’s Choice


Listener’s Choice

  • YE – BURNA BOY- Winner

African Producer of the Year

  • PHANTOM- Winner

African Artiste of the Year

  • BURNA BOY- Winner

African DJ of the Year

  • DJ NEPTUNE- Winner

Soundcity MVP’s also had special awards to entrepreneurs all of which were presented by Ebuka Obi-Uchendu:

  1. “Innovation and Excellence in Business Entrepreneur”-Ladipo Lawani.
  2. “Innovation and Excellence in Sports”- Ahmed Musa
  3. “Innovation and Excellence in Fashion”- Papa Oyeyemi
  4. “Innovation and Excellence in Social Entrepreneurship and Digital Influence”- Bolatito Ovia
  5. “Innovation and Excellence in Community and Socio-political development”- Ebenezer Wikina
  6. “Innovation and Excellence in The Creative Arts”- Clarence Peters

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *